Starting January 22, 2018, residents of Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington will need a passport to board domestic flights as well as international. Currently none of these states issue state ID’s that comply with TSA guidelines for federal ID minimum security requirements set forth in the REAL ID Act of 2005. For more information on the REAL ID ACT, see our blog article What is the Real ID Act and how does it affect me?”
These nine states still have the next three months to make changes to their state IDs or drivers licenses so that they meet federal government standards. Otherwise, you’ll need to apply for or renew a passport.¬†Other forms of ID that are sufficient are permanent resident cards (green cards) and military IDs.